Supporting OA through Library Budgets

About This Session

In this session, library leaders will discuss their institutions' agreements with scholarly publishers such as Elsevier, ACM, the Royal Society of Chemistry, and Sage by which library funding supports making publications available through open access.


photo of Kevin Hawkins

Kevin S. Hawkins

  • Assistant Dean for Scholarly Communication, University of North Texas Libraries
More Info.


Keith Webster

  • Dean of University Libraries, Carnegie Mellon University

Keith Webster was appointed Dean of University Libraries at Carnegie Mellon University in July 2013 and was additionally appointed as Director of Emerging and Integrative Media Initiatives in July 2015. He also has a courtesy academic appointment at the University’s H. John Heinz III College.

More Info.

Katharine Dunn

  • Scholarly Communications Librarian, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Katharine Dunn works in the scholarly communications & collections strategy department in the MIT Libraries, where she’s been a librarian since 2011. She manages MIT’s open access policies and supports researchers and students around OA, author rights, copyright, and federal funder policies.

More Info.

Elaine L. Westbrooks

  • Vice Provost for University Libraries and University Librarian, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Since August 2017, Elaine L. Westbrooks has been the Vice Provost for University Libraries and University Librarian at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  She is responsible for the leadership and general administration of the University Libraries which includes 9 libraries with approximately 300 staff.

More Info.